OPEN CALL:Applications For Summer 2018 Low-Residency MFA

149092_cc89f0a6a603038dd5da41a47c2d09e4The School of the Art Institute of Chicago’s (SAIC) Low-Residency Master of Fine Arts is currently accepting applications for summer 2018. This three-year program is designed for the 21st-century artist whose work and life demands both a rigorous engagement with an artistic community as well as flexibility, fluidity, and a self-directed approach. The program is open to artists, writers, educators, curators, and historians. The flexibly structured curriculum supports a plan of study that integrates studio work with art history, theory, philosophy, and poetry.

Aligned with SAIC’s nationally-ranked graduate fine arts program, the Low-Residency MFA provides students with a unique educational experience unlike any other program of its kind. Three consecutive summer residencies at SAIC bring students together to create, construct, and critique work during six-week intensives structured through both studio- and classroom-based courses and symposia. Studio work builds toward a major thesis project with both exhibited and written components. Supported by faculty based at SAIC, students spend spring and fall semesters taking classes online and working remotely from a home studio, paired with a local SAIC program mentor.

The program is organized into three topic-driven themes that investigate the philosophy of art.
1. The first year focuses on the notion of attention. Students learn to mobilize the senses and construct objects to explore the process of capturing or destabilizing the attention of the viewer.
2. The second year, devoted to the subject of sensation, explores the thoughts, feelings, moods, and actions that drive the process of making.
3. The third year explores the history of perception, including theories of questioning the distinction between the viewing subject and the object of his or her perception.

Core Faculty: D. Denenge Akpem, Giovanni Aloi, Lee Blalock, Gregg Bordowitz, Irina Bucan, Toufic El Rassi, Delinda Collier, Dana DeGiulio, Andrew Falkowski, Lindsey French, Claudia Hart, Kelly Kaczynski, Terri Kapsalis, Seth Kim-Cohen, Nathanaël, John Neff, Hamza Walker

Visiting artists and scholars past and returning: A.L. Steiner, Steffani Jemison, Riva Lehrer, Jason Simon, Moyra Davey, Wafaa Bilal, Miguel Gutierrez, Trevor Paglen, Pamela Sneed, Corrine Fitzpatrick, Stephen Andrews, Andrea Ray, Zoe Leonard, Eileen Myles, Stephen Andrews, Helen Molesworth, Pamela Sneed, Matthew Buckingham, Alejandro Cesarco, Yvonne Rainer, Andrea Fraser, Rodney McMillian, Eileen Myles, Josiah McElheny, Joseph Grigely, Kira Lynn Harris, Glenn Ligon, Josiah McElheny, Lynne Tillman, Wu Tsang

Learn more about the Low-Residency MFA program.

Reduced fee application deadline: 1/12/17
Application deadline: 10/1/18

Κράτα το